…fight for a Cure

That’s right, I said fight. FIGHT for a cure- a cure that will keep our loved ones from dying far too young, and suffering through precious days of their lives.

I’ve been struggling with this Susan G. Komen scandal. I’m an avid Facebook poster and lurker, I read lots of articles pertaining to the stand Karen Handel took -and as I read I struggled. I read many comments about people pulling their funding from Komen, I read countless bashing posts to each article- and while I didn’t necessarily agree with the stand this woman took, I couldn’t help but think about the entire point of Susan G. Komen’s foundation: to fight for a cure. An entire foundation was being punished because they let one person’s political views speak louder than their cause: To fight for a cure.

This cure could save many lives that have been forever changed because of this beast of a disease.

Next fall I will get married, and my mother won’t make my dress, she won’t zip me up or put bobby pins in my hair, she won’t be there to ease my premarital jitters or to tell me how proud she is of me- she won’t be there because she was a victim of breast cancer and we lost her 4 years ago.

To me she wasn’t a statistic or a number, nor did she have monetary value; she was my mom. What’s worse is I am not the only daughter left behind, or sister, or mother… there are billions of people with stories that are more heart wrenching than mine, hearts that are broken and empty spaces in lives.

I’m not here to bring you back into the good graces of the Komen foundation, it just happens to be my catalyst for this blog.

I spent last night at a kick off party for Susan G. Komen’s Northern New Jersey foundation, I was there with Live. Breathe. Grow. running a Diva Photo booth for all the attendees. I met women who were younger than my mother celebrating 1 year of being cancer free, and another who had just finished her first round of chemotherapy (who may have been 8 years older than myself). While I was there I wasn’t thinking about what stand a Vice President took,  I was thinking about these women fighting for their lives, and family members fighting for the lives of their loved ones. When did cancer victims become just a number, or a threshold to spread political views?? Still I struggle over the stand that was taken…

one day, a cure

In our Diva Booth we had an empty frame that was made of white board so you could write “I fight for….” and fill in your blank. This vibrant young beautiful woman came in, completely decked out in pink including a hot pink wig. I handed her the white board and said “Would you like to tell us who you fight for?” Her answer was “I fight for me. I fight to live another day…”

If I am being authentic to myself, and authentic to my readers I will tell you that I can not keep my emotions out of this cause. I wasn’t there for Susan G. Komen, I was there for my mother, and for the survivors, the fighters, and the loved ones of the victims.

Cancer is not a statistic, its a disease that takes life away from those we love. I will support Komen, I will support Avon, and I will support any other foundation that puts any effort to ridding our world of this awful disease in its many ugly forms.

I will wear pink (my least favorite color), I will stand with the bald, the young, the old and the eccentric and hopefully together, despite the politics, changes can be made.

4 thoughts on “…fight for a Cure

  1. Wow!! I am in awe. You beautiful, sweet girl. You have such a big heart. Your mother will be with you on your wedding day as I’m sure she is every day, watching, observing, proud to see the woman you have become.

  2. This is so beautifully written. I lost my grandmother less than a year ago to ovarian cancer and seeing everything she went through was heart-wrenching. The fight for the cure can’t ever stop. Your mother will always be with you and watching over you. I know my grandmother is always watching over me.

  3. Sorry for the delay, I wanted to come in and thank you ladies for the kind words. :)

    To follow up: LBG and myself did the Diva Photo Booth in the Survivor tent on race day- and it was indeed life changing. We took pictures of these bold beautiful women who had fought, and some who were still fighting.
    We took pictures of husbands in pink wigs, and tiaras, these men wore the least masculine color for their wives, mothers, and sisters. They were there, alongside fighting- running- walking- loving. Its a moment that truly touches your heart.

    For all the bad publicity that Komen received, we spent the day with all the good they did. I am so truly grateful to have played a small part in that.

Leave a Reply

