Build a Bridge…and Get Over IT!

Bridge (definition): a structure that spans and provides a passage over a road, railway, river, or some other obstacle. **I would like to point out that this is just one piece of one definition. When I looked it up there were endless meanings for bridge in the dictionary. They spanned fields engineering, chemistry, human body, music and others.

I like the way they included “some other obstacle” in the definition of a bridge. Although I am quite certain they were referring to some other physical object that you may need to pass over…it gave me the opportunity to reflect on the obstacles in our way that may not have the obvious physical presence of a railway or river but can be equally difficult to cross from an emotional stand point. Emotional pain such as anger, hurt, disappointment, stress…fill in the blank here!

I have to say I have never given the word much thought but what a beautiful word. Bridges allow us to cross over rough terrain (physically, emotionally or spiritually) that we may not otherwise cross on our own. I am reminded of a popular saying that used to be used in a sarcastic tone that people used several years ago: “Build a bridge and get over it”. If you change the tone of this message it actually is quite right on the money. In order to get through, move beyond or forward from a place where we may be stuck we can build a bridge to get past it.

I immediately had the vision of doing bridge pose and allowing whatever issue is facing me at the moment that I need to get over…just walk over my bridge as I ground myself in the pose.

When we are able to move past something we create so many new possibilities…so each bridge is opening up a new option or pathway for us to follow that we could not get to before. Also when we cross the bridge it is still connected to that original place we travelled from. We do not necessarily leave all of the stuff behind – we just blend it with the new to create a stronger self. And it doesn’t just have to be about getting past a hurt or an issue – it could just be about growth and expansion!!!

Taking this idea from a growth and expansion place…my friend, and business partner, Terra has taught me a lot over the past year about nutrition. I was a nutrition counselor in the past for about 4 years and have a chemistry background, I have lots of knowledge of foods, nutritional content and what happens in our bodies. I thought I had a pretty good handle on things.


Standing on my side of the nutrition mountain with a river between us, Terra tells me there is a whole undiscovered world of nutrition that I have not yet explored over on her side of the mountain and there is still so much to learn for me to live the healthiest life possible. In this situation how easy would it be for me to just be content where I am. I could think “I know enough to eat healthy and live a good life. It sounds like an awful lot of work to make my way across the river. I am content right here”.  Does this sound familiar at all. Have any of you ever had that moment where you know there is something to be learned, or you know that your path is blocked and you have to find a way through…but it just seems like a lot of work to make the change?

This is such a key moment. The moment where it comes into your awareness that the way you have been living or something in your life is not working for you or is not the best for you. You have the choice to stay settled in your uncomfortable yet comfortable place…or you can build a bridge an get over it. I know that I hope my answer will always be… “Let’s get those tools in hand and get to work”.

 

POSE: Setu Bandha Sarvangasana (Bridge) Pose

Lie on the floor, and if necessary, place a thickly folded blanket under your shoulders to protect your neck. Bend your knees and set your feet on the floor, heels as close to the buttocks as possible.

Exhale and, pressing your inner feet and arms actively into the floor, lift the buttocks off the floor. Keep your thighs and inner feet parallel. Clasp the hands below your pelvis and extend through the arms to help you stay on the tops of your shoulders.

Lift your buttocks until the thighs are about parallel to the floor. Keep your knees directly over the heels, but push them forward, away from the hips, and lengthen the tailbone toward the backs of the knees. Lift the pubis toward the navel.

Lift your chin slightly away from the sternum and, firming the shoulder blades against your back, press the top of the sternum toward the chin. Firm the outer arms, broaden the shoulder blades, and try to lift the space between them at the base of the neck (where it’s resting on the blanket) up into the torso.

 

One thought on “Build a Bridge…and Get Over IT!

  1. “You have the choice to stay settled in your uncomfortable yet comfortable place…or you can build a bridge an get over it.” Love it! and I’d say, build the bridge and then take 3-6 wheel poses to get over it.

Leave a Reply

