A Novice’s Journey Into The Self

Who am I you might ask to be writing about spirituality? Am I a devout Buddhist, Hindu, Muslim or Christian? Nope. Do I meditate every moment and spread Zen love wherever I go? Not exactly. Do I study theology or have a history of religious practice? No. So I have no credentials and I’m no expert. But I am a student with an open heart willing to learn, willing to believe that their is more out there beyond what we can see. I have recently become a more devout student due to circumstance and need.

I found myself a few months ago at the bottom of a deep black hole. And I knew their was no where to go but up. I’m not sure how I knew this. Reassuring words from loved ones played a part, but something inside myself was telling me that everything was going to be just fine. Some sane voice of reason I had become so accustomed to ignoring. A quiet place inside, just for me and yet beyond me. When I tapped into this voice I felt loved, included and a part of something incredible. Call it intuition, God, your inner monologue, whatever. It helped, when nothing else really could.

And so in search and in honor of that Voice I have been exploring outside and inward to find a balance. My path is taking me in very interesting directions, some good and some bad. Some mind-blowing and some depressing. But the one message I have learned so far is that regardless of religion or belief, spirituality makes people feel good, and sometimes even spread that goodness beyond themselves.

As I don’t affiliate myself with any one school of thought, I am able to stay objective on this journey. My first stop was and is Yoga. I did yoga for the first time my Junior year of college. I wanted to lose weight and my room-mate had a video. What struck me about it was the last bit, Savasana, or corpse pose. It was the first exercise practice I’d experienced where theyactually encouraged you to lie down after. Not only encouraged but required it. As I used the video more often and saw a change in my body, I also began to relish the end for other reasons. It eased my mind and made me feel more positive. As the years have gone on Yoga has served me well and has led me way beyond its physical moves…to a practice that steadies my life. I recommend anyone wishing to bring balance back into their lives to try a yoga class.

Yoga is just one of the many ways that we can tap into that infinite goodness. According to Geneen Roth, author of ‘Women, Food and God,’ if we trace a thought or idea back to its source we are finding a way to God. And any thought will do. Including the uncomfortable ones. We can also use our pain, our jealousy, restlessness, etc.Β  to connect with our deeper selves. Yoga, and in turn meditation can take what we normally turn away from, into a way to heal and find the peace everyone desperately seeks.

I hope you follow me on this inward journey and apply some of my experiences to your own adventure. Because that’s what life really is. Stripped of its trappings and allusions, the adventure of your life!

β€œA journey is a person in itself; no two are alike. And all plans, safeguards, policing, and coercion are fruitless. We find that after years of struggle that we do not take a trip; a trip takes us.”
~ John Steinbeck

2 thoughts on “A Novice’s Journey Into The Self

Leave a Reply

