Friday’s Music to Move to

When I took my first yoga training in Boston in 2006, music wasn’t a very significant part of my training or even a significant part of my practice.  I mostly practiced in silence. Some of my favorite classes were even taught without music. As a new teacher I found it hard to concentrate on teaching with music containing lyrics.  As I grew as a teacher, this became easier, but my playlists were always mellow and usually very “yogic.”

The first time I took a rockin yoga class was in 2009 with Dave Romanelli.  POW! Music, vinyasa and chocolate – couldn’t have gotten any better. There’s something about downward dog while listening to Led Zeppelin totally rocked my brain. Music has been such a large part of my life (I’ve seen well over 100 Phish shows!) but pairing the two loves never crossed my mind…how very blonde of me. 🙂

Later in 2009 I met Wendy Gross-Pinto and Souls Sweat Asana. Soul Sweat training brought my love of music and yoga to a whole new level.  When I first started developing my vinyasa soul sweat flow, I struggled putting together my set lists.  It was like being a new teacher trying to find my way through lyrics all over again.  Now putting together yoga playlists isn’t a struggle, it’s one of my favorite things. I hope you enjoy today’s playlist!

March 18, 2011 Soul Sweat – Fair Haven Yoga

One Step Closer to You – Michael Franti & Spearhead
Ray of Sunshine – Sim Redmond Band
The Lazy Song  – Bruno Mars (Deluxe Version)
Get Higher  – Matt Nathanson
Shining Star – Earth, Wind & Fire
Send Me on My Way – Rusted Root
Say Hey (I Love You) – Michael Franti & Spearhead
Songbird – Ryan Montbleau Band
Love Like Woe  – The Ready Set
I Love the Stars – The Orion Experience
Just the Way You Are  – Bruno Mars
Fooling Myself  – Grace Potter & The Nocturnals
Home Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros – Up From Below
First Day of My Life – Bright Eyes
Latika’s Theme  – A. R. Rahman & Suzanne Slumdog Millionaire

All songs are available on itunes! 🙂  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

