Terra’s 30 day Hot Yoga Challenge: The Pre-Game

30 days. 30 classes.

30 HOT classes.

Yup. I am doing it. LBG’s 30 Day Hot Yoga Challenge. I can’t really not do it – I am one of the owners of the company! I have to do it, and it’s totally. frigging. scary. I am doing it anyway.

I can’t decide whether it’s better to do it as a count down from 30 to 1 like crossing big x’s on a calendar, or count up from 1-30 checking off the days like notches on a bed post. I guess it just decides on perspective, yoga torture or yoga prowess.

I currently teach 3 yoga classes a week, and try to squeeze in 1-2 classes for myself. Yoga is a way of life for me, but I am not always diligent with my asana practice.  What will a daily asana practice for 30 days teach me?  How will it change me?  Perhaps it will turn me into one of those “hot yoga” types. Maybe I’ll get crazy and attempt a 60 days Bikram challenge?  Only time will tell.

Now…the WHY.

I want to prove to myself that I can complete a goal I set. They say that it takes 21 days to make or break a habit. I’m not sure, I don’t think I’ve ever broken or created one! I’ve tried giving up chocolate, that lasted 10 days. I tried going vegan and broke down and had eggs at day 20.  I did the Master Cleanse for 15 days. Once I tried to blog for 30 days straight. It lasted 5. I want to prove to myself that I can actually do this…blogging about it just holds me accountable.

It will help me zen my life. I know the benefits of yoga are life changing, not only physically, but mentally. Being a business owner makes my mind run 1000 miles a minute. It seems there’s not enough time in the day for the eleventy billion things that need to be accomplished. In my yoga classes I always speak of quieting the mind and living in the moment, lately I have not been practicing what I preach. I think this challenge will bring not only peace, but focus and determination. Things I need in both my yoga practice as well as my business practice.

– I want to see a physical transformation.  A busy life means my asana practice gets very little attention. Sad. I feel so tight right now.  I am taking a 500hr. teacher training in early 2012, so I would like to use this to really amp up my asana.  Ryan, my massage therapist at the Metro Park Wellness Collective exclaimed to me a few weeks ago “Terra! your hamstrings are just big balls of tight!!”  So lets lengthen those.  And loosen my chest and shoulders so Garudaasana (eagle pose) isn’t so god awful and challenging for me.  Added bonus, loss of inches and weight and a fabulous complexion.

Be the change I want to see. Don’t think I really need to expand upon this one 🙂

I will be practicing at Hot & Soul Yoga, Hot Yoga Revolution, Colts Neck Hot Yoga and Power Flow Livingston, they each offer different styles of hot practice, so I will be able to mix it up with power classes, Hot 26, Vinyasa Flow, Hot & Soul Evolution, Dance Flow and Ballet Barre. Check out there schedules and join the challenge! Or just join me for a class!

If you cant join me for a class, please cheer me on here. Hold me accountable and I’ll keep you updated on the progress, the ups the downs and the transformation!

Leave a Reply

